You will know if a hole appears in the sidewalk.

Walking to the store with Cali (dear Hubby) we encountered a homeless man. He looked sad sitting in front of the Chinese wing place. Propped up against the column, he was staring vacantly at the blacktop in front of him.  He was staring so hard, he would know if a hole appeared in  the sidewalk. Cali said that its hard to see people like that who are down on their luck. He noted that you only see people in homeless situations like that up north and not so much in the south. I wholly agreed and reminded him of the detour numba seven an I took a few weeks ago because of homeless people. We continued our conversation as we were making our purchases. Suddlenly, Cali walked away from me and said. “I have something I’ve gotta do.” I rarely question when he does stuff like that so…off I walked.

When he caught up with me at the checkout line,  he had a couple of extra items in his basket. He pointed at them and said only “three bucks.” While checking out, he asked the cashier to put the single beer and 2pc box of chicken in a separate bag.

When we went outside, we ran into that man again. Cali handed him that separate bag and told him he noted the man was down on his luck.  The man was very grateful. I felt bad about not paricipating in the kindness and pulled my change out of my pocket. $1.36. I handed it over to Cali and he passed it over to the man.

He smiled big and was thankful for the kindness. It was a good feeling to hel someone out. While I was not feeling well today, (OMG I am sooo sick right now! The flu sucks…mini digression there.) That kindness made me feel like a worthy human being. 

For just a moment…I know that man felt like he was important or at least better than what he was before.

Remember. A fellow human is just that. Human…no matter if he notices the holes in the sidewalk or not.

Respect yourself AND each other. 

What do YOU think?

About emaylerocks

Work at home professional, author, wife, mother of many. I view the world in a slightly different way than the rest. They don't let me out much so I do have a lot of time to think. Speaking of that... What do YOU think?

Posted on November 9, 2014, in philosophy, Randomocity. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do YOU think?

