Sometimes the Reflection Is Prettier

Walked down to the pond to cast a few with Cal. He is such a wonderful man to go fishing with. He often reminds me how peaceful and serene things are when you are fishing.

Today, the water was pretty clear. Well as clear as can be for an inner city pond. Recently, the city had cleared out I the woods on the oppoaite side of the pond. This left for a clear view of the sky. There were a few trees along the edge that made for a beautiful scene that I first notice painted across the still surface of the water. I tend to space out and stare across the water when fishing. I dont think about much. I just try to tune into my pole to feel the light tug of a delicious bass on the end of the line. (Haha. Catch that? I digressed and you didn’t even know it. I bet Napoleon Dynamite caught it.) Any way, something made me focus at what I was really looking at. As I cast out my line, the gentle ripple came from the jig when it hit the water and it struck me. I am looking at the very beauty that nature tries to show us everyday. As I take it in, I cast my line back out and look up at the sky. I note that the crescent moon was missing from my painting on tge water but it still lacked something.  It was simply not as breathtaking as the reflection.

Reflection.

Epiphany.

The reflection was more beautiful than the sky. I found it confusing and fantastic at the same time. It made come to a complete understanding. Our reflections tell the world so much more than at first glimpse. It made me want to run home and look into the mirror. I wanted to find what I have been missing.

I wonder what I would find.

In the mean time, I cast my line…watch the ripples change the painting…and breathe in the beauty.  I know know what Cal means. Its not the quiet. Its not the being alone with your thoughts. It is the paintings you see which make you think and appreciate just that.

Revel in the moment for the ripples will change it forever.

What do YOU think?

About emaylerocks

Work at home professional, author, wife, mother of many. I view the world in a slightly different way than the rest. They don't let me out much so I do have a lot of time to think. Speaking of that... What do YOU think?

Posted on December 27, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    I like this. I am an impatient man so I find it hard to appreciate the “moments.” This is a good reminder and a great read. Thanks for sharing! -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please comment on their post.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sometimes it takes a different viewpoint to see things… Your mind will be used to what you’re used to doing, and that can get in the way of perspective.

    Like

  3. I love this post. It made me think and put a smile on my face. Thank you.

    Like

  4. While reading this, it took me back to my trip to India, as i took one of the wooden boats through a quiet lake, and appreciating the reflections that was mesmerized upon it; for me reflections do provide a sense of stillness, and relaxation I wouldn’t normally find. loved what you wrote.

    Like

What do YOU think?

