Fishing in the Rain (Part Deux of the Reflection is Prettier)

I had another glorious revelation the other day while fishing. While casting my line on an overcast day, a light rain began to fall. I like the rain. Especially the cool crisp rains that only a Seattleite can know. I watched the drops make tiny ripples in the surface of the mirror smooth water. Of course, before the rain began to fall, I was observing the reflection in the pond. I was at one which was surrounded by trees and the beauty of Mother Nature. These are the perfect places to fish, by the way. No trash, no noise, no constraints of human kind. (I digressed. Just a bit. But it IS relevant.) The trees were painted perfectly in the water and the surface so serene and calm, you could almost see the color painted therein.

I have only seen one pond my entire life where the water was so clear you could see straight to the bottom. Even in the middle, as you were standing on the bank, you could see everything in it. THAT, my friend, is a beauty you will never forget. (Yes Carrie, this is YOUR pond. I am jealous! Add me to the list of haters right now! hehe) I will revisit that place one day very, very soon. I remember that pond being so beautiful. You could also see the reflection upon its surface. It was like two worlds converging into one. Not crashing but coming together in a harmonic way. I would love to see what it looks like with a light rain creating random ripples here and there.

As I watched the surface of the pond I was fishing, it started out slowly. Random circles magically appearing here and there. Then they would fade into nothing as quickly as they appeared. Then they became more. Until it was covering the whole pond. At first, I thought it beautiful because it resembled the beginning of life. You know, one cell splits into two and two into four and four into eight…etc. That is what it looked like. But then I seen something deeper. I found that feeling I had at another pond not so long ago when I was observing the reflection and found it entrancing and beautiful. Only, this time, it was the colors on the pond surface smearing and recreating themselves. (Now, I am not much of a Jesus freak but I imagine this is how people who do believe in God wholeheartedly would perceive this.) It was like God was painting, erasing, and painting it again. While each painting was perfect, it was smeared, and repainted to perfection again and again. It was so mesmerizing that I stopped fishing just to watch. This is a great feat. I love fishing. Especially when I go with my Cal. These are the best times with him. He is in his element and has an aura around him that is so bright words cannot describe it.

Even in the rain, he is in his happy place and I could not ask for more. It makes me want to be in that moment forever. Coming back into my own thoughts (Yes, my brain went just like that from the reflection to observing him a few yards away in his own rapture and then back inward,) I once again observed the rain smear the paint on the canvas of the pond and recreate it again. It was magic. It was breathtaking. It was peaceful.

For a moment, I was whole again. I was me. I was calm. Nothing else mattered but being right there with the man of my dreams, doing something we both enjoy. Breathing. If only I had that kind of inner calm with every moment, I would not torture myself with extra things that wreck havoc on my soul.

What do YOU think?

About emaylerocks

Work at home professional, author, wife, mother of many. I view the world in a slightly different way than the rest. They don't let me out much so I do have a lot of time to think. Speaking of that... What do YOU think?

Posted on January 25, 2015, in Life, philosophy, Thnking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do YOU think?

