Celebrate Your Grumpy Teenagers

This evening, the grumpy Smurf had her winter sports awards banquet. Both Cal and I were amazed at the turnout. I had to give up the seat behind me to some random stranger. Had I not done so, he may have had nowhere to sit.

image

This picture was our view from the front row when the teams were being announced. There were 2 cheer teams, 2 wrestling teams, and four basketball teams. Each athlete put their best foot forward all season and this is the ceremony where they get their seaonal pins, letters, and awards. For many of these kids, this is the beginning of their future. For others, it is their ticket to a better life.

Let me back up for a moment. This school does an awards banquet at the end of each sports season. I personally attended the fall sports banquet (the one which included the football teams,) and the turnout was similar. That one was difficult because our Smurf was at basketball practice so I was just there for support of her and her team.

I find the lack of support for these kids by their families appalling. Yes, teenagers are grumpy and tend to want their parents to step back. The parents probably attended most games the athletes played. However parents, your support should not stop there. Be and remain your athletes biggest fan. Yes the kid is going to be embarassed at your cheering and pulling for 110%. But guess what? At the end of the day they will appreciate it.

As a former high school athlete, no matter how things were with my parents, I was always saddened when I seen that one or both of them was nt supporting me.

As a parent I have walkws three miles one way to show my face at a game and attended every banquet possible. If there ever was an issue preventing me from being there, I would let my smurf know “Smurf, I cannot be there tonight but know this, I am. There in spirit and I feel like a chump cuz I am not able to make it.” Honestly, I would still make every effort to be there for her even after telling her that. Maybe shes embarassed that I am there in my Sophia walking shoes but when I watch her sit with her team and hug her friends because they are there alone, I see the appreciation there.

Over the years I have come to know a few of her teammates and I will be a little loud for them too. No, I dont know why the parents arent there. I can only hope they are at work oe some other vakiant reason hut I can give them a little support and lift them up. I can see they appreciate it.

Support your teenagers peeps. No matter how ungrateful or disrespectful. If they are doing something great…always he and remain their biggest fan.

Our baby girl received her second medal/letter of the year. Now we are on to Softball and I can promise you I will do what I can to attend her games and I will be at the banquet. I will be loud for the neighborhood kids and certainly my voice will boom for the Smurf.

image

Trying to be embarassed at picture time.

(On a side note, this support results in “Hi Mom/Dad” on national TV or your kid buying you a house or car. Not always….but sometimes….yea…I digress.)

What do YOU think?

About emaylerocks

Work at home professional, author, wife, mother of many. I view the world in a slightly different way than the rest. They don't let me out much so I do have a lot of time to think. Speaking of that... What do YOU think?

Posted on March 3, 2015, in Life, philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do YOU think?

