I am a procrastiwriter.

I know that is not a word but it describes me perfectly. We all know that writers are great at procrastination. I get all these wonderful ideas about stuff to write. Many of them never see the white of paper and that is sad. They are brilliant! If there were a way to put from my mind to paper the ideas that I get, my phone would not be filled with random pictures of strange things. I go back through the gallery from time to time and go “What in the HELL was I thinking?!” Yet I leave them there. It is the vain hope that inspiration will return and the brilliance will shine through. Did you see how cloudy it is today?

On a different note, I wrote my exam TODAY and turned it in! That is a great feat! What usually happens is this: The paper is due by 9am PST on Monday. Just three hours before the deadline, I will sit down and fork out my paper. If I am lucky, it will be an A-. Usually it is a B- to an A. I can live with that. Everytime I get that A-, I sit and wonder….hrmm…had I put the time, thought, and energy into that paper the seven days before what grade would I have gotten? Like the tootsie pop commercial, the world will never know. Ah, but I digress.

That is my nature thus my habit. I have always forked out my writing assignments at the last minute. I guess that is why I love to blog. Honestly, I should have found blogging long ago but life gets in the way, huh? I could give you excuses as to why my brilliant ideas sit in dusty corners of my mind. The most blatant being that I do not have a laptop anymore (I can always put one on a wish list on amazon and hope someone buys it for me!) I am just to cheap with my money to get another when I have my phone and my office. The thing about my phone is that the keys are small and I fat finger….a lot. I hate writing in my free time because I work from home and try to avoid my office like the plague when I am not working. Yeah. See what I did there? Excuses, excuses, excuses.

I was walking home from the bus this morning and stopped to take a picture of some random thing that has been there for a few days. Yet another brilliant idea that will sit in my phone and remain dusty until I force my self to put it out there. (No, I am NOT going to tell you what it was. That is for later.) I remember thinking “jeez, if someone ever found my phone they would think I am a little off with all these random pics of stuff in between pics of my family and such.) It made me smile a bit because my mind instantly flashed a memory of Cal shaking his head at me for pulling out my phone to take a picture of some nonsense thing. Yea, he knows what it is. Do you think he “knows me like a book!” (Yea, quotation marks because THAT is a HUGEMONGOUS inside joke that he and I get a regular giggle at.)

So I had intended to sit down and write about the picture I took this morning. The computer is humming, the word press is open, the coffee is there. **Goes to get some munchies to keep me satisfied while writing.** Oh look! I can peel some tape from when we painted the other day. (Not a writing digression here but background, we had an internet issue and I had to leave work early. Moral? Unscheduled, unsupervised time off leads to the brilliant idea to paint the house!) So I begin to peel tape. I peel more, get the bench, peel more. Oh look! Since I did the molding and around the doors, might as well peel the tape from the ceiling too. I just know I don’t want to do it later. Besides, we are working on our follow through so we need to finish what we started. Done.  **Washes hands and hears the computer humming in the other room.** Dang it. My coffee is now cold. Be right back word press. **Heats up coffee. Looks in the fridge for creamer. Oh look! I am going to suprise a sleeping Cal by making chicken, mac and cheese, greens, and cornbread. Mmmmm mmm! **DING! Gets coffee from microwave, puts chicken on the counter and chastises her self for running the pc for no reason. Walks into the office.**

And here I sit. I wrote SOMETHING! But not what I wanted because I totally lost what it was I sat down to write in the first place. I swear if I put enough effort into putting off writing I think things may get done.

It is worse with editing. I have my second book just sitting there waiting for me to finish editing it. I intend to publish on Pi day but if I keep putting it off, its not going to happen. Ugh. Such it is that we are.

What do you procrastinate? As a writer do you randomly take your eyes from the white sheet and go “Oh look!” and randomly venture off to do something else simply because you think it takes precedent over your writing?

What do YOU think?

About emaylerocks

Work at home professional, author, wife, mother of many. I view the world in a slightly different way than the rest. They don't let me out much so I do have a lot of time to think. Speaking of that... What do YOU think?

Posted on March 6, 2015, in Thnking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do YOU think?

