Falling Off the Edge of the World

For reasons I will not go into, I have a lot of bad feelings and misgivings about the beach. It used to be one of my favorite places. While it is still one of those places it is also a place I have grown to lovingly hate. I have always wanted to visit a beach that is pure and beautiful. You know, like the ones in the brochures of Bermuda and other tropical get-aways. I have always fantasized about swimming with the fishes in a reef and seeing water so blue and so clear you are afraid to touch it but are compelled to enter.

Here, the water is stained and ugly by the run off that our country allows the cities to dump into it. I am certain if you were to look at a satellite view of it in real time, it would be outlined with a brownish grey color before it drops off into the depths of the ocean. I am even more certain that that drab color extends for miles beyond what I can see from the sandy shores of my home. This makes me sad. Its symbolic because it is exactly what this place has done for my one place of happiness.

Before I realized what run off was and how it worked, I loved coming to the beach and frolicking in the water and just looking out to the ocean. It seems like you would either be looking off into forever or you are looking at the edge of the world. No wonder our ancestors believed the world to be flat. It looks like if you went far enough, you would literally fall off the planet. What I do not understand is why did they not think about the world underneath the water. I mean, if the water were simply going off the edge of the planet, the waves would not come toward us and the fish and such would simply float off into space. Space would be awful stinky after a while. (Ah, but I digress.) I just love the way it looks. That is all. As far as the run off? Well, I cannot frolik in the water anymore because the runoff makes me swell up like a tick. I am sick for days afterward and will spend the next month swearing never to do it again. Ah, but the ocean, she beckons to me.

Recently, the family and I went to the beach and there is this horrible looking rusty type contraption built near the pier. I think it is designed to take the run off further out into the water and make the water near the beach safer for the swimmers. This makes me frown because that seems to defeat the purpose. Yes? It would make that nasty brownish-yuk rim around the united states that much larger. How disgusting can you be?

So I guess I will visit the beach sparingly, and be sad and happy in one envelope and watch the yuk “fall of the edge of the world…” eventually.

What do YOU think?

About emaylerocks

Work at home professional, author, wife, mother of many. I view the world in a slightly different way than the rest. They don't let me out much so I do have a lot of time to think. Speaking of that... What do YOU think?

Posted on March 11, 2015, in Thnking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Destroying nature one step at the time… That’s what it looks like to me. 😦

    Like

What do YOU think?

