Slinky time

This morning I got our number Seven up a few minutes early. He had a slinky on his night stand. While we had our morning chat, we tried to get each other to catch the end of the slinky by tossing it up in the air. We did this by holding the other end. It was the best thing ever to listen to him giggle and laugh and have a good time. Both of us went on to have a great day. I find more and more everyday that spending real time with your kids is the best feeling ever. It goes beyond playing video games together or watching a movie. It is that human interaction that makes us better people. I have said it before, the zombie apocalypse everyone is anticipating has already happened. I am guilty of the symptoms as well. Though I do make a conscious effort to limit zapping my brain with my phone when we go to eat. I happen to think it rude to pay attention to your phone when you are eating lunch with a friend or family member. (And of course, I sit here typing this while at lunch with my Cal. He’s guilty too. Doing the same.)

Its all good. It is the new human nature. However, we must make a forced effort to not let this overcome us as a species. I think that our dogs even know when they are going to be “ignored.” Every time our Mollie comes to sit next to me, when I pull out the phone to play my silly puzzle game or check my Facebook, she gets up and walks away. On more than one occasion I have seen this look of “Oh good Lord, not THAT thing again.” It makes me feel bad. So I put the phone away and toss the ball for a bit or rub her belly. Honestly, it makes me feel better knowing that I put that silly thing away. Cal tells the kids all the time: That will always be there but your family won’t. Embrace it!

I certainly see what he means. No, there is not a digression here today nor is there some funny twist on things. Just writing about what is on my mind this morning.

What do YOU think?

About emaylerocks

Work at home professional, author, wife, mother of many. I view the world in a slightly different way than the rest. They don't let me out much so I do have a lot of time to think. Speaking of that... What do YOU think?

Posted on April 7, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do YOU think?

