SOCS: stick (Boy that Tree Was Happy to See Me)

Going through fast food drive thru’s you have opportunities to observe human nature at its finest. Before I go into my blurb “stick” let me blatantly digress by doing a flashback Friday. When our Number 23 (wow…he’s grown!!!) was in elementary school, we went through a KFC drive thru. This KFC drive thru lane overlooked the Taco Bell parking lot next door. We had a birds eye view as KFC was higher up than Taco Bell. While waiting in the drive thru line, Cal and I discussed the goings on in the Taco Bell lot. There was a car pulled up to the side door. It had two people in it. They were just sitting there. You know…just chillin. I said to Cal; “I wonder what they are doing in there?”  He said “I don’t know. Maybe smoking.” In the normal world, that sould have been the end of it when we proceeded to the pick up window. But we ain’t normal; are we? Oh, nooo. The back seat pipes up and speaks.

“YEA. THEY ARE SMOKIN SUGAR!”

CAL: (O.O)             MICHELE: (O.O)

Cal took this one. To be honest, I would not have been able to handle it with a straight face. “Uh, son, what happens when you smoke sugar?” The child happily says “Duh! It makes you hyper! What do you think candy cigarettes are made of!?” Here is when I did the proverbial ‘whew! **wipes sweat off brow*’ I was thankful there was not another “talk” we had to have with one our children. (Ah, but I digressed. BIG time!)

Stick.

Flash forward to modern day. While this drive thru incident had nothing to do with children or the great stupidity humans are capable of, instead, it is mother nature getting her giggles in.

We were waiting to place our order at the speaker and I turn Cal’s attention to my side of the truck. “Look! He is soo happy to see me!” It is breakfast time and instead of Taco Bell or something, there is a steak house next door. Call looks at the empty parking lot and looks bewildered. “Uhm..who?” No. No who. Owls don’t like the daylight. “The TREE!”

image

(Picture inverted to show you what I was thinking.)

“I don’t get it.” Yes. I pulled out the camera and snapped a picture. Again the back seat pipes up (Different child. Similar age.) “Dad! Mom is gonna write about the stick on the tree!”  I wave that statement off and turn the picture upside down and show him what I mean by the tree being happy to see me.

Yes…I get the “only you” wave and he turns to place our order. Yet another skewed view of my world. Humans. Nature. Happy sticks. Hmm, wonder if that tree was watered with Happy Juice?

What do YOU think?

About emaylerocks

Work at home professional, author, wife, mother of many. I view the world in a slightly different way than the rest. They don't let me out much so I do have a lot of time to think. Speaking of that... What do YOU think?

Posted on May 15, 2015, in Life, stream of consciousness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I like how random your thoughts are… if that makes sense LOL

    Liked by 1 person

What do YOU think?

