SOCS: Information

socs-badge

Information

One of the first things that came to mind was my youngest when I seen the word “information.” Often, said child will provide too much information about the goings on in the bathroom or other stuff that people simply do not share with one another and he is so nonchalant about it. To be honest, it is his personality to just be like that. I think I am the only one he is like that with and I assume it is way of showing that he trusts me beyond what words can….describe.

This leads me on to telling people…TALK AND LISTEN TO YOUR CHILDREN!  No two children are alike and they all have their silly little ways to let you know something. Most kids will come right out and tell you what they are feeling or what is going on. Others will “show” you. However, it is often the child that is so subtle that is the one who is ignored or feels they are not important enough or are labelled as “quiet.” No. Wrong. They are just expressing themselves in a way that is unlike the majority of children. The quiet ones are always there, observant, and may even have something important to say but they want their one on one time and actually prefer a true conversation with their parent. Many of these children will simply wait for mom or dad to become “unbusy.” If they never do, then they (inwardly) feel that they parent is too busy for them and believe that they are not important enough to have their parent sit down and actually talk to them.

Believe it or not parents, your children, even at just-beginning-to-speak age are dying to have  a conversation with you! If they come to you and demand your attention, drop whatever it is you are doing and TALK TO THEM! This teaches them invaluable social skills! I ask my family every day about their day. Even if I was with my kiddos all day, I still have them recap their day. I love to hear their little voices speak to me. Its like music! (I even ask my Cal about his day…everyday!) What they have to say is important to me and I am genuinely interested.

Ok, there is my rant for SOCS.

What do YOU think?

About emaylerocks

Work at home professional, author, wife, mother of many. I view the world in a slightly different way than the rest. They don't let me out much so I do have a lot of time to think. Speaking of that... What do YOU think?

Posted on June 6, 2015, in Thnking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. great post great advice!

    Like

  2. I think talking is always important, not just with children. I remember I had to be quiet when I was a child.. I only remember being lectured when I did something wrong. But I see how my sister does it..she sits down and has a talk. Sometimes even for no reason. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent advice…so important to maintain lines of communication with our children especially through the teenage years and into adulthood. I discovered that as a parent my children were not going to be little clones of me, they were themselves and there they were not always going to do what I liked but my role as parent was always to be there for them and for them to know that I supported them through the rough patches as well as the good times.

    Like

  4. loricarlson66

    great post… I wish my parents had listened more, for that matter, anyone had listened. Too often people have been distracted or thinking about their own response to really listen. Perhaps that is why now I say so little to people… great advice.

    Like

  5. I totally agree. I try to do that with my nieces and nephew who want to know about each and everything and want to share about each and everything too 🙂

    Like

What do YOU think?

