Morning Motivation

I wrote this for work. It is outside my normal writing for work but it applied just the same. I found it to be something that is truly…me.

Standing in front of the mirror this morning, motivation gone, I began pondering what exactly it is that motivates me to get up and fight that horrible traffic at 4 a.m. six days a week. Luckily, I had gotten far as getting dressed and brushing my teeth. Once you hit a certain point in your working career, some things come automatic. Or do they? What keeps us going every day and what is it that really makes us get up and live the day to its fullest. Is the adage, Carpe Diem really about seizing the day or is it the motivation behind it what makes everything worth going for?

In our careers, work becomes work when it is no longer something you love. You have to make a change or things will become dry, monotonous, excessively stale. Don’t get me wrong, a little stale never hurt anyone. It is that staleness that some people have that makes them function in society that is impatient with the flightiness of finding joy in a squirrel bouncing from tree to tree. Everyone needs stale sometimes. It allows them to breathe. What happens beyond that welcome breath is what’s important. Embrace the stale and move on. Even if it something as mundane as taking a different commute to work. Let me explain. Personally, I have a routine which I go through every single morning. Same old, same old. It’s nothing fancy however, when there is an interruption in that routine, I tend to get grouchy. This is especially true before coffee (aka B.C.) This is not to say that it ruins my day but I find comfort in the staleness of my mornings.

Today, I decided to live a little.

Actually, I don’t believe it to be a choice I consciously made, it just happened and I am having a better day because of it. I sat down and watched thirty minutes of a movie I had never seen before. The TV was on when I woke and it was already playing. I became interested and came to my senses thirty minutes later and had to rush about to get my day started. No, I didn’t finish the movie but it was exhilarating to do something different for a change. While the rest of my day involves work and what I do for a living, that small change this morning gave me motivation and a fresh look on the day. Yes, this is not a normal blurb from this page. But, it is insight into the mind of a WAH Professional. All too often, those of us who work from home find ourselves recluse, riddled with bad habits, and with the feeling of a hamster in its wheel. We have to make a conscious effort to break out of the mundane and make life happen for us. This can be a downside of working from home but, it does not have to be.

For those of you trying to live the “Carpe Diem” and to break out of the mundane, here are some tips to aid you in making a small change in your day to get things going with even a slight fresh perspective. Event he smallest of things, can make all the difference. Who is going to judge you if you decide to wear a three piece suit to work and you work at home. Just one time wearing something like that can give you the confidence boost you need. Back to the tips. Here we go:

1. Ignore the snooze button. No, I don’t mean to keep on sleeping. Those who use the snooze button often have several alarms set to ensure they get motivated. Why not live life on the edge and get up the FIRST time? It could make the difference in your day. Who knows, you may end up being less tired because of it.

2. Find something to look forward to later in the day. Even if it is getting your usual Starbucks coffee or walking out to the end of the driveway for the paper. If you are looking forward to it, it can motivate you to get up and going. If you are like me, even looking forward to work is enough.

3. Music is your friend. I know many people who listen to music while they get ready. I have observed a family member once, they feel more confident in their appearance when they are jamming to their favorite tunes while they are getting ready for their day. Compared to non music days, they are so much more chipper as they start out the day. This can set the tone for a good day!

4. Drink water. I find that I do better throughout the day if I drink at least one 8 oz glass of water before I do anything first thing in the morning. I eat better, I feel better, and I tend to make better eating choices. Water has so many benefits and it is good for you. Why not start the day out right?

5. Feeling mundane?  Set a daily list of goals for you to accomplish before you go to bed. While you may not get all of them done, there is a sense of accomplishment in knowing that you have checked some, if not most (or all,) of them off before you end the day. This goes hand in hand with giving you something to look forward to. Seize the day, folks. Seize the day.

These things can translate in becoming motivated for your work day or job search as well. I will probably go back to the same old, same old tomorrow. Who knows, I may even try something as little as drinking coffee out of my favorite tea glass. Now THAT is living on the edge!

What do YOU think?

About emaylerocks

Work at home professional, author, wife, mother of many. I view the world in a slightly different way than the rest. They don't let me out much so I do have a lot of time to think. Speaking of that... What do YOU think?

Posted on February 19, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do YOU think?

