The trees spoke to me today

I have been delirious with fever since Wednesday. I swear if I cough one more time, my head will explode. As I check my temperature and it remains steady at 102.5, I sit up to write this.

This afternoon,  I went out to the driveway. I had been sleeping more in the past two days then I probably do in a week. I needed air. It was all I could do to meander to the corner of the house and collapse at the edge of the driveway.  Typically, I will cross my arms, lean on the house and count the cars that ride by. Today was different. Fighting a fever makes you cold natured despite the 70 degree weather outside.

I pulled my arms into my shirt and instead glared at the junkyard in the woods across the street. Alternating between that and watching three ants become confused every time the wind blew, I heard something.

Often I will see Cal with a content look on his face, gazing happily into the blowing leaves of the trees. This is his thing and I never tried to understand. Today I did. Every time I turned away, they would become louder. They were telling me to listen.  For a moment, despite my fever… I was at peace.

What do YOU think?

About emaylerocks

Work at home professional, author, wife, mother of many. I view the world in a slightly different way than the rest. They don't let me out much so I do have a lot of time to think. Speaking of that... What do YOU think?

Posted on May 21, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do YOU think?

